The Mourn.

“One day we will dance again & the light in our eyes will return but not today.”

I am shocked. I am confused. But mostly, I am upset. Upset with how quickly my head has come to terms with the fact that you have passed. How a night sleep can bring everything into clarity & one is no longer in disbelief. Disbelief was easy, denial was easier. My head heals, but my heart lags behind, lingers. Shook up, broken. & this disconnect makes me uneasy. Is that all you are worth? A couple of comments on a class group page & the whole world moves on the next day (or 3) like nothing happened.

One day, we will dance again & the light in our eyes will return but not today. Today, we will mourn you.

& we will move on, because even we know that is what you would have wanted. Always wanted the best for your students.

I desperately hope that you are resting well. Because I can’t think of anyone else who deserves that more.

For Dr. Anegbe.

Author: Lape

Lover of Christ. Aficionado of art, words and cologne. Student medic. Amateur pianist. Vous parlez Français?

5 thoughts on “The Mourn.”

  1. Oh, you just made me cry once more. I will always remember him. He was one of those that left their marks. Can’t believe I’m referring to him in past tense already. What a life. Miss you Dr Anegbe

  2. You just made me cry again. Thank you for the write up, he was a wonderful person and I’ll always remember you Dr Anegbe. Eternal rest grant unto him o Lord. Adieu the best neurosurgeon the world never knew

Leave a Reply

