Artitude: The Tree Root.

Passing by Chapel Lawn, I couldn’t ignore this imagery. Immediately I was stirred but had to come back for it so I could get a shot. Yeah, I don’t carry my phone about so much. And yeah, I’m aware it’s a mobile device, you smart cookie.

Anyhoo, here’s another Artitude post. Enjoy. Think. Join in.

What I see in this picture is the root of a tree. I’m sure that’s what we all see once you can ignore the huge gape in the centre of the tree’s foot. Again, the root. It runs in so deep that if the tree was cut, it would still remain. And even if the strongest winds blew and the greatest storms raged, it would still be there. Now that’s some strong foundation.

A competent foundation is vital. I’m sure my architect-sister would agree. Whether it is your foundation in academic subjects (as I believe, the secret of the genii is in their knowledge of the nitty-gritty) or in the Christian walk.

I’d focus on Christians. Listening to God’s Word day after day without actually doing anything about it is like building a house without a foundation. Jesus’ words, not mine. And pointless it is in fact. Why be heard but not listened to?

Thing is, no matter how gorgeous the house is, it will crash if weak when attacked. Ergo, it’s all a big waste.

I guess what I’m just trying to say is that it’s one thing to hear God’s Word and another to obey. It’s not enough to just be hearers but we must really listen and obey. Think about it, it’s one thing to build a house; it’s another to be able to inhabit. If you don’t believe me, check out Luke 4:49.

»»»

P.S. My apologies for being a tad distant. Between major spill-over tests and being nose-deep in books, school’s been a trip, really. Not.

P.P.S. It’s precisely two weeks to my first MB exams. For those who aren’t conversant with medical school parlance, it’s the first of a series of professional exams I need to write before being declared a medical doctor. Pray for a sister.

love
‘lape.

Tree Root

Tree Root

Author: Lape

Lover of Christ. Aficionado of art, words and cologne. Student medic. Amateur pianist. Vous parlez Français?

6 thoughts on “Artitude: The Tree Root.”

  1. Spoken from the mouth of a ‘Pastor Mrs’! Just sayn! That was a really nice piece. Just makes you stop and think, you know……to look back at the road you’re coming from nd wonder if it was well traversed,to wonder if the journey was even worth it, to examine you’re building and wonder if it was well built, if the you materials were concrete and steel or clay and wood, if what you built on was rock or sand………-touching-.

  2. woohoo! This is even more awesome ’cause I quite recognise this tree and the Amala joint not too far from it (suddenly shy) *blush furiously*
    Yes, yes, yes, let every man be careful how he builds… while acknowledging every goodthing in Christ, who is the true Vine, the root and foundation of our salvation.
    Great stuff you got here (on the blog) ma’am and I celebrate with you on your winging MB 🙂

Leave a Reply

